Space Project: Sounds Outta This World

Let's let Lefse Records explain:
The audio tracks that form the raw material for Space Project were recorded by the Voyager 1 and Voyager 2 space probes that NASA launched in 1977 and still uses to study the outer solar system. The satellites carry numerous instruments fine-tuned to record in different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum. The "sounds" recorded by the Voyager probes aren’t sounds in the conventional sense; rather, they are electromagnetic radiation fluctuations in the magnetosphere of the planets, moons and large asteroids the Voyager probes traveled near. Each celestial body is composed of different elements, has its own size and mass, and therefore sounds unique.
Matt Halverson, the guy behind Portland-based label Lefse Records, cooked up the idea to have 14 musicians play along with the "electromagnetic radiation fluctuations in the magnetosphere of the planets, moons and large asteroids" captured by Voyager 1 and 2. The result is Space Project which will be released on Record Store Day on vinyl, CD, and as a 7” box set. The artists include Spiritualized, Beach House, The Antlers, Mutual Benefit, Blues Control, Trevor Powers, aka Youth Lagoon, and more.

While there's no mention of a digital release, you can stream the entire album for free right now on NPR's First Listen.

Track Listing (according to heavenly body):

A Porcelain Raft: “Giove”
B The Antlers: “Jupiter”

A Mutual Benefit: “Terraform”
B Anna Meredith: “Miranda”

A The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program: “Always Together With You (The Bridge Song)”
B The Holydrug Couple: “Amphitrites Lost”

A Youth Lagoon: “Worms”
B Blues Control: “Blues Danube”

A Beach House: “Saturn Song”
B Zomes: “Moonlet”

A Absolutely Free: “EARTH I”
B Jesu: “Song of Earth”

A Benoit & Sergio: “Long Neglected Words”
B Larry Gus: “Sphere of Io (For Georg Cantor)”